UNPREDICTABLE

According to the weather forecast, it was supposed to snow until about 11:00am or noon.  It is almost 6:00pm, and the large, fluffy white stuff is still floating out of the heavens.  So much for predictability!
Doesn’t that sound like life, though!  We hope for and declare all sorts of things, both good and bad.  Only a fraction of them actually come true.  Face it:  We’re not that omniscient, so knowing the future is out of our reach.

 

I think of the numerous predictions I had for my life:  The age by which I would marry, the kind of work I would do… Instead, I got lots of surprises.  Most of them have been good:  My university degrees, opportunities to travel, honors and awards.  Some of them?  Not so much.

 

I am in no way saying that we should never plan or set goals; in fact, I strongly believe in doing both.  You know the saying, “You reap what you sow!”  Or how about this one – “What you do today will be your tomorrow.”

 

One secret in living well is knowing our limits.

I do have the power to choose.  I can say, “yes” or “no.”  This is probably one of the most basic and important skills.

I am in charge of myself.  No one can MAKE me think, say, feel or do anything; that is all in my control.

 

I do not have power over others.  They get to make their own choices.

 

There are the events that come along, which we would never choose; yet we are faced with them:  Illness, accidents, the death of someone precious to us.  When I consider these, I am reminded of all the stories I have heard about people who respond positively.  Oh, they grieve, get angry, need time to lick their wounds…but they don’t stay there.  Instead, they walk through the process of loss and healing; then, they build new opportunities and move forward.

 

There are so many lessons in the surprises of life!  The two that come to mind are:

1.  “The best revenge is to live well.”  I don’t believe that this ever applies to people.  It does call us to overcome those tough situations, however.  This says, “I won’t let the hard stuff get me down!”

 

2.  Do you know the difference between a survivor and a success?
A survivor makes do with scarcity;  a success creates abundance, then builds on it.

Leave a Reply

