Counting Kindnesses

One day, I had gone to one of my favorite delis for lunch.  I placed my order; then stood back out of the way to wait for it.  When the server came back, she informed me that someone had paid for my lunch.  That person remained anonymous.  I felt quite special and pleased by this kindness.

 

My eldest  sister and I took care of our mother in her last two years of life.
One Monday, after Mom had come home from the hospital yet again, two women who went to my Church brought us dinner.  We had so much to do; a lot of visitors had come by, including service providers.  We were exhausted.
The dinner brought to us was simple, but it could have been a twelve course meal, we were so relieved by the gift.

 

Almost 10 years ago, I had a knee injury that required two surgeries.  I was in a wheelchair for 4 months.  The challenge with that is, I couldn’t go anywhere unless someone came with me.  A bunch of my friends stepped up to the plate:  They took me to work; then came and got me to go home; they took me out to lunch, to appointments, Church, stores and anywhere else I wanted to go.  I don’t know how I would have made it without their help.

 

Earlier this year, I went out of town to a conference.  I met a man by the name of Wes, from Wyoming.  He was very much the gentleman:  Greeting me, visiting; helping if I needed it.  I never felt “hit on” by him or in any way patronized.  His kindess was genuine.

 

A friend went with me to this same conference.  She was very respectful of me and sensitive to my needs.  She treats me like a real, whole person; not like a “handicap.”  I truly appreciate her regard.

 

Just today, a friend came over.  She moved two rose bushes and a hops plant for me:  Hard work.  How sweet is that!

 

I could go on, there are so many stories like these.  I might have to keep a list, just to remember them all.

 

How many stories might be in your own treasure chest?  Count them one by one and enjoy the warm, happy feeling that springs up from within.

Leave a Reply

