SCHOOL DAYS

The kids in my town had to go back to school this week.  For some, this is the beginning of a 13-year journey, since kindergarten is required here; for others, this is the last stop before college or work…or whatever will come after high school.

 

Do you remember your school days?
The fashions (or lack thereof)
Choosing a locker partner; checking out the new teachers…or of more interest, the new dudes and dudettes
Getting your class schedule and groaning about it

 

I was always happy to get back to school, usually because I was bored with the lack of activity during summer vacation; also because I loved learning.  Okay, I was a bit of a brainiac!

 

There is a subtle bit of training that happens with a 9-month schoolyear and 3-month vacation:  We become accustomed to expecting something new in the fall.  I remember reading somewhere that more people change jobs or start new businesses about this time of year; fashions are introduced about now, partly because of the return to school; reconsideration of life, direction and desires seems to be on many people’s minds.

 

I find this to be true for me:  The smells, sounds and feel of fall seem to wake me up and make me a bit restless.  I look for a new course to take; I check through my wardrobe for clothes that seem out of date and wonder how to change my style.  Community Choir will start soon, something I anticipate with eagerness.  I start cleaning up my gardening and thinking about new designs for next year.

 

Fall means change; yet things are not all that different from back in the day when I was having to make the adjustment from summer to the schoolyear.

 

How about you?  Are there fond memories from your school days?  I’m betting there are some you are happy to forget!  What has changed?  What seems very much the same?

One thought on “SCHOOL DAYS

  1. Your colorful description evoked back to school memories….mostly good! One prominent memory is the invariable sack lunch I packed for myself in high school when I didn’t care for the cafeteria offering of the day: white bread w/mayo and two thin slices of sandwich meat and an orange. Not very imaginative.

Leave a Reply

