EVENING

The house is quiet after a busy day.
I sit alone on the sofa,
Reflecting as I listen to the clock in the kitchen;
Tick, tock, tick…

 

Priscilla, my cat,
Joins me at the other end of the couch by my feet.
She purrs with contentment;
A soft, rhythmic sound.

 

Friends, family and neighbors surround me,
I am wealthy:
Love, peace, hope and joy
Fill my soul.

 

Life’s treasures are funny,
Often mysterious.
The greatest ones are a bit intangible;
Perhaps even indescribable.

 

Catching thoughts is like chasing clouds;
My mind is sleepy.
Coziness wraps me in her blanket;
Time to rest now.

Leave a Reply

