THOUGHTS ABOUT HOPE

In the past few weeks, I have been experiencing some healing and breakthrough that has filled me with true hope.
Not the kind I often hear people express, which can amount to veiled expressions of doubt.
They’ll say, “I hope so,” but really don’t expect anything good to happen.
So, what is this wonderful thing anyway?
It is joyful and confident expectation
It can also be
Someone who can help or save:  Jesus is our hope.
Grounds for believing that something good will happen.
A feeling of trust

It’s funny:  Healing brings hope; hope brings healing.

Steve Backlund, of Global Legacy says that if we are not overflowing with hope, we are believing a lie.

Yoncci Cho says, “who should draw a plan for ones’s life? It is when you have a plan in your heart or dream; it becomes a drawing for your own future.”

Hope is the power behind dreams.  It is what gives us courage to express desires or reach out to others; it strengthens us when we take risks – That new friendship; a business venture; healing, learning and growth.

Hebrews 11:1 says, “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”
Faith and hope are partners.  Both have to do with trust and expectancy; they plan on good things happening.
Perhaps the thing I like most is, they cheer our hearts.

2 thoughts on “THOUGHTS ABOUT HOPE

  1. Thanks for your words and reflection about hope. I’m definitely at a place in my life where I need all the hope I can get! I think the problem for me right now is summed up in the Hebrews passage you quote, namely that I have no evidence things are going to get better so I don’t know whether my hope will be made real or not. I can say I “hope” it will, but it feels a tad shallow, like I’m forcing myself into a position rather than embracing how I truly feel.

    Anyways, thanks again for your words and keep on blogging!

    • Hello, Lawrence.
      Thank you for replying to this post. I love comments, mostly because I enjoy serious conversation.
      Thanks, too, for your honesty and vulnerability.
      First, I will stand in the gap for you: I will keep you in prayer today and any time God pts you on my heart.
      Keep hoping. One important quality of this is that hope trumps circumstances and feelings. Please understand: I am in no way suggesting that you disregard or dishonor feelings and situations. They certainly have important things to tell you. Let hope lead.
      God’s blessings be poured out on you.
      Hannah

Leave a Reply

